jump to navigation

Chris’s story: The Computer’s First Christmas Card Wednesday, 25 November 2009

Posted by carryapoem in Stories.
Tags:
trackback

I am forever indebted to my Advanced Higher English teacher, Steve Munro, for introducing me to Edwin Morgan and my favourite poem, ‘The Computer’s First Christmas Card’, which set me down the messy path of writing poems. It takes what is often a terrible setting for poems – prompting the flowery contemplation of snowflakes, blah blah – and actually makes it worthwhile. It’s funny, nonsensical, an experience to read out loud, and even looks wonderful on the page. It also appeals to my geeky computer side and is remarkable for being written in 1968 when computers were in their infancy. If ever I feel like I’m losing track with writing, this uncompromising and unapologetic poem tends to sort it out.

Chris is part of the editorial team of Read This Magazine and his chapbook, “You Old Soak” is available from Read This Press.

Comments»

1. Steve Munro - Thursday, 28 January 2010

Nice choice! I read that poem as a pupil too…When I rediscovered Morgan as a young adult and away from school I felt like his lines from “Christmas Eve”,
“It was only fifteen minutes out of life
but I feel as if I was lifted by a whirlwind
and thrown down on some desert rocks to die
of dangers as always far worse lost than run.”
Morgan is still one of my favourites to use in class!

Steve Munro


Leave a Reply

