jump to navigation

Claire’s story: ‘When you go’ by Edwin Morgan Wednesday, 25 November 2009

Posted by carryapoem in Stories.
Tags:
trackback

I first came across Edwin Morgan when I studied the Stobhill series in about second year of high school. I really liked the flimsy Xeroxed poems I was given, so I dug some more Morgan out of the school library. This particular poem struck a chord with me even at the tender age of 13! I loved all his work, but it stood out from all the rest.

When I first discovered the poem, I loved its simplicity — at the time I was being forced to analyse literature to within an inch of its life in class, and I liked the fact that this poem couldn’t be picked to bits, it was an open and shut case. I was always a poetry geek and I remember showing this to friends and saying ‘look, not all poetry sucks!’, with varying results…

Now, I’m more emotionally involved with the poem. It always, without fail, makes me cry when I read it… and every time it happens, I’m a bit shocked. I know it off by heart after all, but there’s something so terrible and so sweet about it that it always just blows me away. I don’t know any other poem that has quite the same effect.

Claire is a poet, lecturer in English and Communications at Telford College, and a blogger. Her website is a fantastic resource for emerging poets: http://www.readthismagazine.co.uk/onenightstanzas/

Comments»

1. Rachel Fox - Friday, 29 January 2010

Yay for simplicity.
OK, not always…but a lot of the time.
x


Leave a Reply

