jump to navigation

Nada’s story: The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock by T S Eliot Wednesday, 25 November 2009

Posted by carryapoem in Stories.
Tags:
trackback

T S Eliot’s poem entered my life in a bang, as some poems do. The place was Heidelberg, Germany, in a friend’s kitchen. He was making us breakfast and then he started reciting the poem, with no warning, no context, as he was making pancakes’. ‘Let us go then, you and I, /When the evening is spread out against the sky/ Like a patient etherized upon a table…’. I was simply overwhelmed, besotted, ensorcelled and hooked! It was like hearing Mozart for the first time: there was a profound humanness to the poem, a story about love , all these tables and oysters and seedy hotels in half-deserted streets and then that call again: ‘Let us go then, you and I..’. I’ve been in love with the poem ever since, I carry it my head and recite it every time I’m baking, and of course, when I make pancakes.

Nada Cabani is embarking on a new novel. You can read more about her on her blog.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

