jump to navigation

Roz’s Story: ‘Aubade’ & ‘Premonitions’ Thursday, 14 January 2010

Posted by edincityoflit in Stories.
Tags: ,
trackback

I carry quite a few poems folded in the back of my little note book. Here are two – I love them both. ‘Aubade’ by Philip Larkin  I suspect  puts quite bluntly into words the greatest of all fears. It is stark and beautiful all at once. It reminds me that this is all we have, with no pretence at anything beyond.

From ‘Aubade’

I work all day, and get half-drunk at night.

Waking at four to soundless dark, I stare.

In time the curtain-edges will grow light.

‘Premonitions’, by Carol Ann Duffy is just amazing in it’s beauty, heart rending in it’s story and so cleverly written!

from ‘Premonitions’ by Carol Ann Duffy

How you talked! And how I listened,

spellbound, humbled, daughterly,

to your tall tales, your wise words

Thanks for letting me share them.

Comments»

1. Moira - Wednesday, 17 February 2010

Hello Roz,

Thanks for sharing both these poems – I wish I had seen them sooner!

2. Liz Dingwall - Thursday, 21 January 2010

This is the first time I have read this poem.
I feel death is only a threat when it comes too soon.
Without death there can be no life, no life without death.
Life goes on without you, the only thing we can be sure of is today.


Leave a Reply

