jump to navigation

Kona’s story: ‘The poem I carry’… Thursday, 21 January 2010

Posted by carryapoem in Stories.
Tags:
trackback

Poet Kona Macphee has responded to our Carry a Poem calls in verse. Enjoy!

The poem I carry

As burden or belief,
millstone or gift,

disease or melody,
I carry it;

ghost-poem, it carries me
on this, my quest:

to get or put it down
before I rest.

Daily I dig for it
and daily fail –

this lush conjecturing,
this scant avail!

It haunts the margins of
my roving gaze;

infests the blanks between
each word, each phrase;

hints at epiphany,
delight, regret:

my heart knows it by heart,
but I forget.

Kona Macphee is a UK-born, Australian-bred poet now living and working in Scotland.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

