jump to navigation

Pascale’s Story: ‘The War God’s Horse Song’ Wednesday, 27 January 2010

Posted by edincityoflit in Stories.
Tags:
trackback

‘The War God’s Horse Song’ is always pinned to my noticeboard just behind my Macbook, and whenever I travel it goes with me in my hand luggage. Although this is the war god’s horse song, it’s peaceful and uplifting, in fact it carries me. There’s the canter of it, the macrocosm of it, with the universe held in the blue sky-horse and it stands for everything good, even wealth! And if I’m poor in spirit, body or purse, this chant helps, reminding me of the miracle of the moment. It was written to be a cure, by the Navajo, as part of their Blessingway ceremonies.

The War God’s Horse Song

I am the Turquoise Woman’s son
On top of Belted Mountain beautiful horses
slim like a weasel

My horse has a hoof like a striped agate
his fetlock is like fine eagle plume
his legs are like quick lightning

My horse’s body is like an eagle-feathered arrow

My horse has a tail like a trailing black cloud

The Holy Wind blows through his mane
his mane is made of rainbows

My horse’s ears are made of round corn

My horse’s eyes are made of stars

My horse’s head is made of mixed waters
(from the holy waters)
(he never knows thirst)

My horse’s teeth are made of white shell

The long rainbow is in his mouth for a bridle
and with it I guide him

When my horse neighs
different-coloured horses follow

When my horse neighs
different-coloured sheep follow

I am wealthy because of him

Before me peaceful
Behind me peaceful
Under me peaceful
Over me peaceful
Peaceful voice when he neighs
I am everlasting and peaceful
I stand for my horse

Pascale Petit is a French/Welsh poet living in the UK. She teaches creative writing in the galleries at Tate Modern.

Comments»

1. rabee - Tuesday, 27 July 2010

very beautiful

2. rabee - Tuesday, 27 July 2010

Very nice one


Leave a Reply

