jump to navigation

Susie’s Story: ‘The Python’ Friday, 5 February 2010

Posted by edincityoflit in Poets, Stories.
Tags: ,
trackback

This is how I’m currently carrying a poem…

I’ve always got the last 6 lines of this lingering somewhere in my mind, and they leap to the front of it when I hear anyone say ‘I had a…’ – whatever.

I had a dog, once – I had an uncle, who – I had a friend, when I was young –

Just those three initial words take me to Hilaire Belloc’s cautionary tale of The Python. Mr Belloc is well named, because his ryhmes for children are Hilarious, and splendidly politically-uncorrect (children are eaten by lions, flattened by slammed doors, expire from overdoses of string, etc).

I’m pretty much on the snake’s side, in this poem/story. One ought not to keep reptiles as pets, really; though if I were offered a family of chameleons for re-homing, I might find myself severely tempted to break that rule…

Susie Maguire is a former actor, comedy performer and TV presenter, who now writes fiction. She is deviser and editor of Little Black Dress, an anthology of short stories by women on the theme of the ubiquitous and iconic frock, published March 2006. Her own stories are published in two collections: ‘Furthermore’ and ‘The Short Hello‘, and her poetry collection How To Hug is available ffrom Mariscat Press.

Comments»

1. Susie - Thursday, 26 August 2010

Update – soon after the event at which this campaign was launched, i lost my luggage-tag poem – eeek! – i’d tied it to a bag, and it must have untied itself (like a snake) on the way home… somewhere out there, the snake on a label is living yet!

Susie


Leave a Reply

