jump to navigation

Frank’s Story: ‘Snake’ Wednesday, 10 February 2010

Posted by edincityoflit in Stories.
Tags:
trackback

The poem I carry has been with me since schooldays when D H Lawrence was revealed to me, I will admit it was around the time of the “Lady Chatterley’s Lover” discussion in the courts. The poem is his “Snake”. I have yet to find any writing that better explores the mixture of feeling between fascination, hatred and then disgust.

I have often read the poem to others but most amusingly, to senior RAAF officers who after exposure to his writings over dinner, were convinced and really enjoyed his work.

I invite you to read this superb piece of British literature.

Frank Pullen (Retired), Bosun of Forth

Snake

A snake came to my water-trough
On a hot, hot day, and I in pyjamas for the heat,
To drink there.

In the deep, strange-scented shade of the great dark carob-tree
I came down the steps with my pitcher
And must wait, must stand and wait, for there he was at the trough before me.

Read on…

Comments»

1. Marsha Howard - Wednesday, 10 February 2010

Thank you for posting this, Frank. It is very beautiful and powerful. I will share it with my ex-Royal Navy husband who, like your RAAF Officer friends needs to be led to poetry–particularly if it does not rhyme.


Leave a Reply

