jump to navigation

Robbie, David, Ben and Liam’s Stories: War Poetry Monday, 15 February 2010

Posted by edincityoflit in Schools blog, Stories.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Hello, my name is Ben and I am from Queensferry High School. The poem I decided to carry is called Anthem for Doomed Youth by Wilfred Owen. my favourite bit is:

What passing-bells for these who die as cattle?

Only the monstrous anger of the guns.

Only the stuttering rifle’s rapid rattle

Can patter out their hasty orisons.

My name is Liam and I am interested in the poem called “there’s a war on” and it is really interesting to me. My favourite lines are:

waste paper we should have saved, or dropped

and my second favourite is

barricades in the street, feet crashing on broken glass

Robbie thinks “there’s a war on” by Norman Nicholson was really good to read i enjoyed it very much and really interested in your poems !!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

David likes poem Elegy for a 88 gunner by Keith Douglas.

you can’t predict in war it’s a matter of luck, nothing less, nothing more.

Robbie, David, Ben and Liam are pupils at Queensferry High School.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

